Bayesian Optimization within automation

I just wanted to share some of the articles and libraries I found within Bayesian Optimization that apply to experimental science.

I think this kind of optimization is exciting for closed-loop optimization.
I am by no means an expert so please chime in if you have other resources you want to share.

First of all, if you don’t know what BO (Bayesian Optimization) is, then it is a method for efficient sequential search for optimum “settings”.
I think GitHub - AnotherSamWilson/ParBayesianOptimization: Parallelizable Bayesian Optimization in R
does a good job of explaining it.

Paul Jensen and Mark Hendricks had a presentation at SLAS 2023 about “Automated Sciences” Automated Science | The Jensen Lab

This is also a good read
Bayesian reaction optimization as a tool for chemical synthesis | Nature

I’m going to add the liberty that we are going to use soon for optimizing the extraction of DNA: GitHub - novonordisk-research/ProcessOptimizer: A tool to optimize real world problems

7 Likes

Thank you! I’ve been collecting works on BO

I believe that I even reached out to @marcosfelt about it.

1 Like

A package was shared on a similar thread (Liquid Class Optimization - #8 by marcosfelt) that might be useful.

3 Likes

This is a great list! I had not seen the presentation from Jensen and Hendricks - thanks for sharing!

As @evwolfson mentioned, I created Summit for solving scientific problems with Bayesian optimization. We really focus on making it easy to get started, but if you try it and have any issues let me know!

Also, I’d classify the applications of Bayesian optimization into three categories:

1. Discovery: Finding new molecules to serve a particular application or efficiently selecting from an existing library (e.g., [2012.07127] Accelerating high-throughput virtual screening through molecular pool-based active learning)