FCA multidispense into 384 MP

Hi all,

I’m new to teaching and hoping someone here could share insight into a struggle I’m having.

On a Fluent I’m trying to multidispense beads across a 384well PCR plate. Ideally using the FCA for less dead vol.

When adjusting the x and y using the move to position 1 and 96 it looks dead on (using tip 1 to teach). I ran my script right after and the tips were almost touching the edge of the well. The tips I’m using are 200ul. Is there another place feeding offsets I should look for? It was noticeable in my first try with 1000 tips that the ends of the tips weren’t in a straight line, some slightly off center to the left or right. I couldn’t see this same issue with the 200s, but wondering if that’s a factor too? The plate type needed has smaller well diameters then our other 384 plates, and what has been good enough with square wells isn’t working so well with these.

The positioning is pretty bad but the stuff gets in the well. I went down this path because it only uses 1 tip at a time when dispensing. I think it’s due to the y-distance. But due to the assay needs I set the z-dispense to essentially the top of the well, so it wouldn’t physically have any issue going down with all 8 channels. Is there a way to trick it?

Thank you for any advice you can provide!

2 Likes

Hi Daf,
this is a common issue with Fluent FCA (Air), and also EVO Air LiHA
the odd channels & even channels actually have a slight offset - so you inevitably see Tips 1,3,5 & 7 out of alignment in X with Tips 2, 4, 6 & 8

i recently worked on a liquid class optimization/proof of concept project for this very situation you had,
And i was unable to get the instrument to access 8 wells in 384 well PCR plate, tips were clipping well edges at every cycle across the plate

dropping tips & picking up new tips meant a re-teaching was needed