Help with getting started

Hi all. I’m just getting started with PyLabRobot, trying to get it going with a Hamilton STAR. I have limited Hamilton experience, and I haven’t touched Python for several years, so this might be an ELI5 situation as I try to reboot my knowledge.

I’ve gone through the installation in my virtual env, seemingly without any issues that I noticed. However, when attempting to run even the most basic of commands following along with the docs:

from pylabrobot.liquid_handling import LiquidHandler

I get the following large error tree that I can’t seem to parse. Any ideas what the problem might be?

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
ValueError                                Traceback (most recent call last)
Cell In[2], line 1
----> 1 from pylabrobot.liquid_handling import LiquidHandler

File ~/Documents/FutureHouse/Lab/PyLabRobot/pylabrobot/pylabrobot/liquid_handling/__init__.py:3
      1 """ Liquid handling module for PyLabRobot """
----> 3 from .backends import STAR, SerializingSavingBackend
      4 from .liquid_handler import LiquidHandler
      5 from .standard import (
      6   Pickup,
      7   Drop,
   (...)
     14   Move
     15 )

File ~/Documents/FutureHouse/Lab/PyLabRobot/pylabrobot/pylabrobot/liquid_handling/backends/__init__.py:3
      1 """ Various backends that can be used to control a liquid handling robots. """
----> 3 from .backend import LiquidHandlerBackend
      4 from .serializing_backend import SerializingBackend, SerializingSavingBackend # many rely on this
      5 from .websocket import WebSocketBackend # simulation relies on websocket backend

File ~/Documents/FutureHouse/Lab/PyLabRobot/pylabrobot/pylabrobot/liquid_handling/backends/backend.py:8
      6 from pylabrobot.machine import MachineBackend
      7 from pylabrobot.resources import Resource
----> 8 from pylabrobot.liquid_handling.standard import (
      9   Pickup,
     10   PickupTipRack,
     11   Drop,