Tecan Fluent Control Mix Step

I’m new to the Tecan Fluent Control software and have been working on optimizing liquid classes for our DNA extraction protocol. I’ve been having issues with our beads/binding buffer master mix. Since the beads settle out of solution easily, I have a Mix step before the Reagent Distribution. The master mix is being mixed in a reagent trough using the 8 channel Air FCA and then distributed to wells of a 96 deep well plate.

The mixing step is only mixing at the surface of the liquid, so many beads are still settled at the bottom of the trough. This is causing an uneven distribution of beads across our 96 well plate during the reagent distribution. I don’t see an option in the script to adjust what z-position the tips are when mixing, so I’ve been looking into the submerge depth for the liquid class. Is there a formula that would allow me the tips to mix at z-max? I don’t want to assign a numerical value to the submerge depth since we work with varying numbers of samples and the total volume in the trough can range from 10mL - 67mL. If this is not possible, are there other variables I should look into? Thank you!!

Which kit are you using?

The Macherey-Nagel NucleoMag Vet Kit

If you’re using the SMART commands, you cannot directly integrate the mix. You will have to create a custom mix step in the LC which gives you a tremendous amount of power but is bespoke.

There’s guidance posted around the forum that is a great starting point. Alternatively you can create a Variable Pipetting Loop with Mix directly integrated.

2 Likes

Make sure your beads are room temp - they can be viscous at cold temps.

With Tecan, mixing at low/high z_dispense is key as the Tecan syringes form more of a jet then a large mix-inducing movement. You will need to cycle between aspirate low/dispense high, and about 10-15 cycles in addition to periodic mixes during the dispense cycle depending on your settling time, but every 3-4 dispenses is typically good.